3 minute read

CMMI Version 1.3 (Summary)

CMMI stands for Capability Maturity Model Integrated. CMMI Version 1.3 came into the market in November 2010. This version has three constellations and they apply to the acquisition, services, and software development industry. CMMI has 4 maturity stages starting from Level 2 to Level 5. Level 1 is considered a natural stage of any organization. In level 2 there are 14 process areas, level 3 there are 21 process areas, level 4 there are 3 process areas, and level 5 there are 2 process areas. But these are the totals of process areas for all constellations. If you are applying for software development then you need not work upon acquisition and services related process areas. In the table below “Y” means for a particular constellation that process area is applicable and “N” means it is not applicable. For example “AM” at maturity level 2 is not applicable for Software Development and Services.

Acronyms mentioned are given by the SEI. Each process area has specific goals called SG and each specific goal has specific practices SP. During CMMI assessment for a particular constellation and maturity level assessor checks whether all the SG and SP of related process areas are implemented, not implemented, or partially implemented. Apart from this, there are 10 generic goals (GG) and each generic goal has certain generic practices (GP). GG and GP apply to all the process areas of the maturity level your organization being assessed for. For example, if your organization unit is Gurgaon getting assessed for CMMI Level 3 for Development then all the Process Areas of Development at Level 3 at Gurgaon Location need to implement SG, SP along with GG2, GG3, GP2, GP3. If any of the goals are missed then you are given an opportunity to fix the problem and reply for the reassessment. Maturity assessment certificate issued once is valid for 3 years. At the end of 3 years certificate expires automatically and you need to apply for reassessment. During this 3 years period anytime a surprise assessment can be conducted by SEI through their Assessment Partners. If you fail in the surprise assessment then your certificate is revoked or you are given a time frame to fix the gaps.

If you are a product company then instead of going for maturity model you can apply for capability model. There are 5 level of capabilities of each process area. When you apply for CMMI assessment you need to tell SEI the names of process areas you want your capability should be assessed for.

  Acquisition Services Development
Maturity Level 2 – Managed      
AM – Agreement Management Y N N
ARD – Acquisition Requirements Development Y N N
CM – Configuration Management Y Y Y
MA – Measurement and Analysis Y Y Y
PP – Project Planning Y N Y
PPQA – Process and Product Quality Assurance Y N Y
REQM – Requirements Management Y Y Y
PMC – Project Monitoring and Control Y N Y
SSAD – Solicitation and Supplier Agreement Development Y N N
SAM – Supplier Agreement Management N Y Y
WMC – Work Monitoring and Control N Y N
WP – Work Planning N Y N
PPQA – Process and Product Quality Assurance N Y N
SD – Service Delivery N Y N
Maturity Level 3 – Defined      
RSKM – Risk Management Y Y Y
OPD – Organizational Process Definition Y Y Y
OPF – Organizational Process Focus Y Y Y
OT – Organizational Training Y Y Y
DAR – Decision Analysis and Resolution Y Y Y
IPM – Integrated Project Management Y N Y
ATM – Acquisition Technical Management Y N N
AVAL – Acquisition Validation Y N N
AVER – Acquisition Verification Y N N
CAM – Capacity and Availability Management N Y N
IRP – Incident Resolution and Prevention N Y N
IWM – Integrated Work Management N Y N
SCON – Service Continuity N Y N
SSD – Service System Development N Y N
SST – Service System Transition N Y N
STSM – Strategic Service Management N Y N
PI – Product Integration N N Y
RD – Requirements Development N N Y
TS – Technical Solution N N Y
VAL – Validation N N Y
VER – Verification N N Y
Maturity Level 4 – Quantitatively Managed      
OPP – Organizational Process Performance Y Y Y
QPM – Quantitative Project Management Y N Y
QWM – Quantitative Work Management N Y N
Maturity Level 5 – Optimizing      
CAR – Causal Analysis and Resolution Y Y Y
OPM – Organizational Performance Management Y Y Y