1 minute read

PMBOK Knowledge Areas

Who uses PMBOK?

PMBOK® (Project Management Body of Knowledge) guide book is an ANSI standard and used as a project management guiding standard in most parts of the world. There are 1,036,367 active PMP certified individuals and 314 chartered chapters across 214 countries and territories worldwide. PMBOK is the bible of these project managers spread across the globe. This is an industry-agnostic, tool-agnostic project management guide. An individual project manager may face challenges in implementing practices described in this book because of his experience or environment but there is no doubt that the standard is the best and it meets the need of the industry as of today. For every 3-4 years, PMI does RDS (role delineation study) and based on the study initiate changes to revise PMOBOK and PMP exam.

PMBOK Knowledge Areas

The complete PMBOK standard is a set of best practices, tools, and techniques. These best practices and tools are spread across ten project management knowledge areas.

  1. Project Integration Management
  2. Project Scope Management
  3. Project Time Management
  4. Project Cost Management
  5. Project Quality Management
  6. Project Human Resource Management
  7. Project Communications Management
  8. Project Risk Management
  9. Project Procurement Management
  10. Project Stakeholder Management

The processes under these knowledge areas are designed using the inputs, outputs of each process, and the tools and techniques used to obtain the outputs.