1 minute read

PMI has three types of standards 1- Foundational Standards, 2- Practice Standards, and 3- Extensions. PMI conducts exam for 8 credentials PMP, CAPM, PgMP, PfMP, PMI-SP, PMI-RMP, PMI-ACP, PMI-PBA. How these 14 standards of PMI are used for different PMI credential exams are mentioned in the table below.

Sno Standard Certificate/Credentials
  Foundational Standards  
1 A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK® Guide)—Fifth Edition PMP, CAPM
2 The Standard for Program Management—Third Edition PgMP
3 Organizational Project Management Maturity Model (OPM3®)—Second Edition OPM3
4 The Standard for Portfolio Management—Third Edition PfMP
  Practice Standard and Frameworks  
  Practice standards describe the use of a tool, technique or process identified in the PMBOK® Guide or other foundational standards.  
5 Practice Standard for Project Risk Management PMI-RMP
6 Practice Standard for Earned Value Management—Second Edition  
7 Practice Standard for Project Configuration Management  
8 Practice Standard for Work Breakdown Structures—Second Edition  
9 Practice Standard for Scheduling—Second Edition PMI-SP
10 Practice Standard for Project Estimating  
11 Project Manager Competency Development Framework—Second Edition  
  PMI Standard Extension  
12 Construction Extension to the PMBOK® Guide—Third Edition  
13 Government Extension to the PMBOK® Guide—Third Edition  
14 Software Extension To The PMBOK® Guide (2013)  
15 11 Books Recommended by PMI for PMI-ACP Exam PMI-ACP